Nulla consequat massa quis enim. Donec pede justo, fringilla vel aliquet nec eget arcu. In enim justo, rhoncus vitae.

Docunight

#66: Formerly Youth Square

* World Online Premiere *
– Now available everywhere in the world
Online Screening from May 20 – May 27, 2020
Q&A with the director Mina Akbari on Sunday, May 24, at 12pm Pacific Time / 3pm Eastern Time / 7pm GMT / 11:30pm Tehran Time

Directed by: Mina Akbari
2018 / 70 mins
Persian with English Subtitles

Journalist Mina Akbari’s FORMERLY YOUTH SQUARE opens with a photograph of a group of 70 journalists taken about 20 years ago in Javanan Square. Of those, only six continue to work in their profession, including the filmmaker. Many emigrated after the 2009 unrest that followed allegedly rigged elections, a few were imprisoned, and others simply left the field. Akbari narrates the film and interviews many of the journalists from the shuttered Jame’e newspaper. They speak about repression and their professional histories, referring to the difficulties and pitfalls of their careers in Iran. Formerly Youth Square drew such a large audience because such sensitive topics are rarely discussed in public forums and because the filmmaker is herself a respected journalist.